CAMILLE PAGLIA

Hello Readers,

These are my viewpoints about Camille Paglia. This blog is written after the special request of my fellow blogger Fredheiser. You all can check out Fredheiser’s blog.

  • Who is she?

Camille Anna Paglia is an American social critic and also a feminist, often called “Anti-Feminist Feminist”. She is lately been in news because of her viewpoints on Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump.

  • Statements made by her and my views

 

‘Embarrassing’ Madonna Gets Destroyed by Feminist Camille Paglia

You can read about it here. Here Paglia accuses Madonna that she sets women back by objectifying herself. Paglia also stated that Madonna is unable to deal with aging and is trying to show that she is still young by sexualising herself. This can be justified when she bragged about her oral giving skills on a stage.

What I think is that, yes, Paglia is totally correct but it’s not only Madonna but also many a female singer and actress. Nearly every music video is sexualised whether it is Fifth Harmony or any other group or an individual. Even Camila Cabello left Fifth Harmony as she realised that the girls are sexualised because of the thinking ‘sex sells’. Sexualising has become a new trend among popstars which is really unnecessary and cringe-worthy. I lost all the respect for Miley Cyrus I had in my childhood.

Calling Hillary Clinton a “disaster”

You can read about it here. People believed that if Hillary Clinton becomes the president, it will mark an era of feminism. But Camille didn’t seem to agree; rather she called Hillary a disaster. She justifies herself by saying that she didn’t accomplish anything and her actions led people from North Africa flood into Italy. She makes miracles a living disaster.

I don’t know how to react to this comment. But I feel that Hillary Clinton does not think before acting towards a situation and makes it even worse. She doesn’t respect anyone and is only a rich spoilt brat who doesn’t show her true side and only pretends to be good. Her racist comment about black community explained everything.

 

Clothing

You can read about it here.

What I feel is that some women are really pushing forward the idea of free will in clothing. Ok, you do have a right to dress up how you like but there is a fine line which shouldn’t be crossed. I totally agree with Paglia here as she mentioned that you are sexualising your office clothes too. It is true. There should be a degree of professionalism. You can’t dress up in street meat clothing and expect men not to stare. Even women stare a man walking in short shorts and tight tank top in the streets and are like it’s not a beach. Don’t even mention celebs like Rihanna and Nicki Minaj who just tape their nipples. It’s not fashion forward and it’s disgusting. There is a way of showing sexiness and skin. Some women just don’t get it and term it as feminism.

 

CONCLUSION-

What I believe is that Camille Paglia is extremely strong woman who isn’t afraid of making bitter but true statements and doesn’t fear the reactions. I agree that she is a hardcore critic who isn’t afraid to criticise powerful people. She is really intelligent and determined as she said, “I do feel that I’m going to win in the long run,”. She represents true feminism and what a woman is and can be to the society. I truly look up to her. The world really needs more women like her.

Author: vvibrance

I am an aspiring writer and entrepreneur. I hope to launch a successful blog and clothing line one day soon. So this blog contains some basic theories from 18 year old mind. Suggestions are welcome. Happy reading :)

2 thoughts on “CAMILLE PAGLIA”

  1. Glad I mentioned her. Someday I will do a blog on feminism and probably lose most of my friends. Always have been a staunch equity feminist. The gender feminists sometimes seem as sexist as the “patriarchy” they denounce. (See Christina Hoff Sommers)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I came across her to while researching about camille paglia… today’s femininsts are narcissists and sexist to be honest and I say that openly even though I am a women. It’s sad because men now don’t even take feminism seriously

      Like

Leave a Reply

